Windsor netters win Tri-Rivers title

Published 9:23 am Wednesday, May 25, 2011

FRANKLIN—The Windsor High School boys’ tennis team won the Tri-Rivers District doubles championship during a three-day tournament held in Suffolk and Franklin.

Windsor’s Bryce Lawrence and Zach Stenger-Hayden defeated a team from Appomattox Regional Governor’s School in the finals 6-2, 6-3. Lawrence and Stenger-Hayden will represent the Tri-Rivers at the Region A tournament in Suffolk on June 1 and 2.

In the girls’ semifinals, Windsor’s Laura Patrick and Jessica Blythe lost 6-1, 6-1 to Shelby Floyd and Andrea Hey of Appomattox Regional Governors School.

In other tennis news, the Franklin High School girls’ team finished its season 5-10 overall and 2-4 in the district.

For the boys’ and girls’ teams in the district, Appomattox Regional Governor’s School placed first, Windsor second, Franklin third and Surry fourth.

ARGS boys and girls will host the first round of Region A team tournament on Tuesday, May 31, in Petersburg.  They will play Rappahonnock boys and girls, who are Northern Neck District champs.

Results from the Tri-Rivers District Tournament for the girls were:


1st Round

Jessica Blythe (W) d. Tyreccka Hawks (F) 6-1, 6-0; Andrea Hey (A) d. LaJoi Clarke (S) 6-0, 6-3; Aly Metz (A) d. Ashley Johnson (S) 6-0, 6-0; Josephina Windfield (S) d. JaShonda Elliot (F) 6-2, 7-6 (7-1); Jessica Bryant (W) d. Leyuan Zhang (S) 6-4, 6-2; Morgan Loehr (A) d. LeKendra Batten (W) 6-0, 6-0; Sidney Tilghman (A) d. Kaitlyn Trotter (F) 6-0,6-2

2nd Round

Shelby Floyd (A) d. J. Blythe (W) 6-0,6-0; J. Harris (S) d. Jeanetta Sessoms (F) 6-2, 6-3; Taylor Ferguson d. A. Hey (A) 6-3, 6-1; A. Metz (A) d. Samantha Bruck (F) 6-1, 6-1; Laura Patrick (W) d. J. Winfield (S) 7-5, 6-0; Nourdjan Hadjevelieva (A) d. J. Bryant (W) 6-0, 6-0; M. Loehr (A) d. Sharnice Williams (F) 6-0, 6-1; S. Tilghman (A) d. Desiree Pulley (S) 6-0,6-2


S. Floyd (A) d. J. Harris (S) 6-1, 6-1; A. Metz (A) d. T. Ferguson (W) 6-4, 6-1; N. Hadjevelieva (A) d. L. Patrick (W) 6-2, 6-1; M. Loehr (A) d. S. Tilghman (A) 9-7, 6-2


S. Floyd (A) d. A. Metz (A) 6-0, 6-2; N. Hadjevelieva (A) d. M.Loehr (A) 6-2, 6-1


S. Floyd (A) d. N. Hadjevelieva (A) 6-4,6-2


1st Round

Tami Edler/Toni Edler (S) d. Kiera Cofield/Maura Zurfluh (F) 6-4, 6-4; LaJoi Clarke/Ashley Spratley (S) d. Rebecca Gray/Tyreccka Hawks (F) 6-4, 6-1; Shelby Floyd/Andrea Hey (A) d. Jessica Bryant/LaKendra Batten (W) 6-3, 6-1


Morgan Loehr/Nourdjan Hadjevelieva (A) d. T.edler/T. Edler (S) 6-2, 6-0; Aly Metz/Sidney Tilghman (A) d. Samantha Bruck/Sharnice Williams (F) 6-1, 6-1; Laura Patrick/Jessica Blythe (W) d. L. Clarke/A. Spratley (S); S. Floyd/A. Hey (A) d. Desiree Pulley/ Jocelyn Harris (S) 6-3, 6-1


M. Loehr/N. Hadjevelieva (A) d. A. Metz/ S. Tilghman (A) 6-0, 6-1; S. Floyd/A. Hey (A) d. L. Patrick/J. Blythe (W) 6-1, 6-1


S. Floyd/A. Hey (A) d. M. Loehr/N. Hadjevelieva (A) 6-3, 6-2