Josh Wyche voted new sheriff for Southampton, Franklin

Published 10:46 pm Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Two supervisors staying in place; two others defeated by challengers


Josh Alexander
Wyche Sr.

Josh Alexander Wyche Sr. has been elected the new sheriff for Southampton County and the City of Franklin, based on the unofficial results posted by the registrars of the respective localities. He succeeds J.B. “Jack” Stutts, who had endorsed the captain not long after announcing his own retirement effective at year’s end.

Wyche had competition in Tommy O. Potter Jr., Mark B. Turner and John A. Brown Jr. But the winner had a total of 4,306 (2,843 – Southampton; 1,463 – Franklin). Potter had a total of 2,981 (2,188 – Southampton; 793 – Franklin); Turner had a total of 2,035 (1,681 – Southampton; 354 – Franklin); and Brown had a total of 257 (218 – Southampton; 39 – Franklin). There were six write-ins from Southampton; four from Franklin.

christopher cornwell sr.

Christopher D.
Cornwell Sr.

For the county Board of Supervisors, two incumbents lost their chairs to challengers. In the Berlin/Ivor District, Ronald West fell 336 to Chris Cornwell Sr.’s 782. There were four write-ins.

In the Capron District, S. Bruce Phillips lost 271 to William H. Gillette’s 802. There was one write-in.

Two other incumbents are keeping their seats: Carl J. Faison for the Boykins/Branchville District (499) over Robert Chet Poland (445), with two write-ins; and Dallas O. Jones (213) over David Everette’s 189), with one write-in.

With the retirement of Barry Porter in the Franklin District, the seat was open, and Robert T. White (665) won over Winston Andy Johnson (207) and Earva Lee “Sumblin” Jones (344). There were three write-ins.

Dr. Alan Edwards, unchallenged in the Jerusalem District, remains in place with 976 votes. There were 29 write-ins.

Lynda T. Updike, also unchallenged for Randolph Cook’s chair in Newsoms, will take her place in January. She had 756 votes. There were 19 write-ins.

Amy B. Carr remains as Commissioner of Revenue (4,709 to Jennifer Cuthbertson’s 1,974). There were 13 write-ins.

cynthia jarratt edwards

Cynthia Jarratt Edwards

Cynthia J. Edwards is the new treasurer with 3,502 to Rhonda V. Griffin’s 3,231. There were 15 write-ins.

Commonwealth Attorney Eric A. Cooke was re-elected with 7,886 votes (5,773 – Southampton; 2,113 – Franklin). There were 139 write-ins from Southampton; 65 from Franklin.

Nancy Phelps Barrett is the mayor of Branchville with 34 votes. There were eight write-ins. Serving on the council are Patricia Darden Peterson (29); Silvie Worrell Murphy (30); and W. Harvey Umphlett Jr. (27). There were two write-ins.

For the Soil and Water Conservation – Chowan Basin District, M.L. Everett Jr. had 4,426 votes. Serving with him is Gary D. Cross with 3,179. There were 58 write-ins.

Southampton County Registrar Lynn Burgess emphasized after giving the totals to The Tidewater News that as always, these results are unofficial until the registrar’s office is able to canvas the precincts to ensure accuracy.

The numbers listed above are updated by the registrars from the online reporting on Tuesday night.