Spring burn law in effect

Published 3:48 pm Tuesday, March 1, 2016

The Virginia Department of Forestry’s 4 p.m. burn law is now in effect and lasts through April 30.

Open burning with a permit is allowed from 4 p.m. to midnight only, according to a city press release. The law applies to recreational fires as well as all other types. It is applicable if the fire is in, or within 300 feet of, woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass or other flammable materials, according to a news release from the Virginia Department of Forestry.

Burning is prohibited before 4 p.m. because winds are higher and the relative humidity is lower, which creates better fire conditions.

Those who allow a fire to escape their control are liable for the cost of suppressing the fire as well as any damage caused to others’ property, in addition to criminal violations. Violation is a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $500.

The summer burn ban will be in effect May 1 through Sept. 30.

For more information please contact the Franklin Fire & Rescue at 562-8581 .