Lajeunesse welcomed into National Leadership Honor Society

Published 8:49 pm Thursday, March 2, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society, welcomed 1,085 new initiates from 45 universities during November 2022, and the group of initiates included Emily Lajeunesse, of Franklin.

An ODK news release noted that Lajeunesse attends Old Dominion University.

Students initiated into the society must be sophomores, juniors, seniors or graduate/professional students in the top 35% of their class, demonstrate leadership experience in at least one of the five pillars and embrace the ODK ideals. Fewer than 5% of students on a campus are invited to join each year.

Omicron Delta Kappa Society was founded in Lexington on Dec. 3, 1914. A group of 15 students and faculty members established the society to recognize and encourage leadership at the collegiate level.

The founders established the ODK Idea — the concept that individuals representing all phases of collegiate life should collaborate with faculty and others to support the campus and community. 

According to, the five pillars of campus life are as follows: Academics and research; athletics; service to campus and community; communications; and creative and performing arts.