2022 unofficial Franklin election results

Published 11:00 am Wednesday, November 9, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The unofficial results in Franklin show Robert “Bobby” Cutchins with a 461-vote lead in the mayoral race with eight of nine precincts reporting.

And with three of four precincts reporting in the Franklin City Council races, the results show incumbent Gregory McLemore with a substantial lead in the Ward 3 election and incumbent Wynndolyn H. Copeland with a notable lead in the Ward 5 election.

Jessica Grant Banks, running unopposed for the Ward 6 seat currently held by Cutchins, has received 95.2% of the vote with three of four precincts reporting. There are 20 write-in votes.

In the mayoral race, Cutchins has received 57.9% of the vote, translating into 1,648 votes, and Ward 4 Councilman Dr. Linwood Johnson has received 1,187 votes, or 41.7%.

In the Ward 3 race, McLemore has 234 votes, good for 70.1% of the vote. There are 100 write-in votes, equalling 29.9%. Charlie Ashburn Jr. ran a write-in campaign for the Ward 3 seat.

In the Ward 5 race, Copeland has 62.7% of the vote, or 239 votes, and the challenger, Ricky L. Sykes, has received 141 votes, or 37%.

Though Republican Jen A. Kiggans has reportedly won the statewide race for Virginia’s 2nd Congressional District, that seat’s current occupant, Democrat Elaine G. Luria, is outpacing Kiggans significantly in Franklin. With eight of nine precincts reporting, Luria has received 1,703 votes, or 59% of the vote, and Kiggans has received 1,179 votes, or 40.9%.