VCCA announces Tyler as a 2021 Legislator of the Year

Published 7:24 am Tuesday, August 10, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Virginia Circuit Court Clerks’ Association (VCCA) announced July 26 that Del. Roslyn Tyler, who represents District 75, was one of two recipients of the association’s 2021 Legislator of the Year award.

Roslyn Tyler

Tyler represents Southampton County and the City of Franklin in District 75.

Also receiving the award was Sen. Janet Howell, who represents District 32.

A press release continued by stating that Tyler and Howell were selected by the clerks for both their exemplary leadership through the trials of the COVID-19 pandemic and their support of the VCCA’s values and priorities.  

“We want to thank Sen. Howell and Del. Tyler for their commitment to Virginia’s constitutional  officers, especially during budget negotiations. They helped us achieve some of our biggest priorities for years,” said VCCA President Llezelle Dugger.  

The VCCA is the professional organization of elected circuit court clerks, deputy clerks, court professionals and their business partners. The clerks are constitutional officers of the commonwealth, elected to eight-year terms to fulfill more than 800 responsibilities and duties outlined in the Code of Virginia.

In addition to being the first African American woman to chair the House Education Committee, Tyler chairs the Compensation and General Government Subcommittee. 

Howell is the first woman in Virginia’s 400-year history to lead the Senate Finance &  Appropriations Committee.  

Together with House Appropriations Committee Chairman Luke Torian, Howell and Tyler championed $1.8 million in new funding to equalize deputy court clerk salaries, nearly $400,000 to ensure a minimum of three positions in each circuit court clerk’s office, and $1 million in new support to help reduce the technology trust fund transfer established during the Great Recession.  

“Sen. Howell and Del. Tyler have long been active supporters of our duties as circuit court clerks,” said Edward Jewett, clerk of the City of Richmond’s circuit court. “They understand where our needs are, and despite having to revise the budget to address the pandemic, they can see that the critical services provided by our offices are something that the state cannot live  without. We are grateful for their vision, and we look forward to where these trailblazing women will take us next.”

Last year, the VCCA honored Sen. Barbara Favola, representing District 31, and Del. Patrick Hope, representing District 47, as 2020’s Legislators of the Year. The association will present all four recipients with their award at the clerks’ annual convention this summer.  

Clerks of the circuit court are active community leaders, volunteers and members of numerous civic organizations in the numerous counties and cities in the commonwealth. 

In recent years, clerks of circuit court have implemented cost-effective and efficient technology  improvements that lead to better service. Some examples of these technologies include secure remote access to public information, e-recording and digitizing of public court records. 

As public servants, clerks of the circuit court have been mindful of the welfare of citizens as they have implemented redaction programs to remove confidential and private information from public records as permitted by state law, and they have worked with the Virginia legislators to pursue programs to protect private information of citizens.