Chamber golf tournament features 17 teams

Published 1:06 pm Wednesday, June 2, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

A field of 17 teams teed off in the 29th annual Franklin-Southampton Area Chamber of Commerce Golf Tournament recently held at Cypress Cove Country Club.

A chamber news release noted that this local event helps to fund the chamber’s continued work in the region, including business growth and development and legislative advocacy. All chamber programs are focused on strengthening business and enhancing community.

Players, sponsors and volunteers started the day with a hot dog lunch provided by Walmart, prepared by grill masters Randolph Cook and George Lee Thorpe. 

The event was kicked off with a new activity — the Nottoway House Furniture Golf Ball Drop.

Chet Hart was the winner of a $500 Nottoway House Furniture gift certificate as his lucky numbered golf ball, dropped from the Highground Services bucket truck, landed closest to the designated hole.

Chamber President Collin Pulley, of Nottoway House Furniture, welcomed participants as club pro, and Ryan Davis reviewed the tournament rules. 

“It takes many people working together to present this tournament,” Teresa Beale, chamber executive director, said. “The fantastic staff of Cypress Cove assures everything runs smoothly for us, from the golf course conditions through the awards dinner. Year after year our generous sponsors and volunteers make this event a success. Forty sponsors participated this year.”

Chamber officials added special thanks to presenting sponsor, Bill and Alice Goodwin; title sponsor, Davenport & Company; and gold sponsor, Dominion Energy.

Posting a score of 59, the 2021 Joe Dail Tournament Champions honor was awarded to the Pinecrest Timber team of Mike Everett, Jimmy Hobbs, Jeremy Everett and Tony Parson. 

Taking second place in the first flight with a score of 61 was the Bronco Federal Credit Union team of Brian Hedgepeth, Richard Atkinson, Lance Simms and Scott Rudd.  

In the second flight, first place was awarded to Bob Powell, Rick Coradi, Mark Shaw and Carlisle Wroton, representing Kaufman & Canoles. Second place went to the Coeco team: Kurt Swoveland, David Heyl and Susan Compitello.  

Third flight winners were Steve Zollos, Dick Grice, Caleb Mattingly and Phillip Zollos, representing Senior Services of Southeastern Virginia. Earning second place was the Enviva team: Chris Brown, Dr. Corey McCray, Anthony Rawlings and Jim Councill.  

Following the round, individual, team and raffle prizes were awarded during the cookout prepared by Cypress Cove.  

For more photos and tournament information, visit