Supporting the Franklin City Class of 2020

Published 1:11 pm Thursday, May 28, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

To the Editor:

Graduation from high school marks a milestone in an individual’s life. While this formal passing into adulthood typically follows nearly the same format for each graduating class, this year has been … historical. The Class of 2020 was the first year almost universally that no graduates in our nation received the opportunity for a normal graduation witnessed and celebrated with all those that loved them and helped them reach this point.

However, that is not quite the case within our wonderful city. Because of a spark started by Christine Hill and Coldwell Banker, Franklin City’s Class of 2020 is being celebrated in some amazing ways! Ms. Hill approached City Manager Jarratt, who referred her to myself, with an idea to celebrate our graduates. Given the green light from the City, it was no hesitation to work with her to bring her idea to life. The result of her idea is now on display throughout downtown — banners representing the Franklin High School Class of 2020.

That one tiny spark has fanned a flame within our wonderful community. As of my authoring this letter, businesses in Downtown Franklin like Smith Jewelers and NuNu’s Place have each bestowed gifts to selected graduates. People have taken time to visit the downtown area to view these, and have lit up social media with images of the banners. Community members have voiced their appreciation, which has brought a positive light on our City. Franklin, just a year ago dubbed one of the worst cities in America, has shown we are the exact opposite. And these are only what I am aware of.

While it would be impossible to name each person who contributed to making this project a success, know that each of you have made this time a little more special for this group of young adults, and you have also helped shine a positive light on our community during such a difficult time.

Amy Phillips

Franklin City Public Schools

Board Chairwoman