Phi Theta Kappa welcomes newest members

Published 6:47 pm Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Omega Zeta Chapter performs induction ceremony


phi theta kappa induction

The newest members of the Omega Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society with advisors Brenda Bergess, far left, and Crystal McNair. Stephen H. Cowles | The Tidewater News

Ten of the 11 candidates for the membership into the Omega Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society were inducted last Thursday. This ceremony, which took place in the Regional Workforce Development Center of Camp Community College, marked their official entry into a renowned group of people dedicated to learning and sharing their knowledge — and wisdom — with other people for the rest of their lives.

Dr. Dan Lufkin, president of Camp Community College, told those candidates present, “I don’t need to tell you to do well. You are there.” He urged them to continue to “do hard work” necessary for advancing their learning.

Dr. Tara Atkins-Brady, vice president of academic and student development, also commended the students, and said, “This is a big deal and I hope you are all proud.”

Cynthia Gurtseigler, who had served as chapter president from 2017 to 2019, was the guest speaker for the occasion. Gurtseigler told the candidates that was the first in her family to go to college, but that it took her three tries. At times she felt overwhelmed, but thankfully found a mentor. Through encouragement, Gurtseigler “poured her heart” into learning. Today she working to earn her bachelor’s degree in logistics management.

Each candidate was called forth to sign their names into a membership roll and then light a candle that signifies the quest for knowledge.

The new inductees are: Jeanette Ahmes, Persida Barkman, Candice Blow, Tamra Boone, Alexis Cannon, Kennedy Parker, Desiree Pierce, John Roberson, Kayla Rountree and Ela Wilson. Not present was Jennifer Christenson.

Ahmes has also been named the new chapter president of Phi Theta Kappa.