City Council again seeks School Board nominees

Published 7:01 pm Friday, June 7, 2019



Franklin’s City Council is again scheduled to seek nominations for a Ward 5 city School Board representative on Monday evening, having received none during the Council’s previous meeting on May 13. Monday’s meeting will be at 7 p.m. in the council chamber of City Hall, located at 207 W. Second Ave.

Unless renominated, the School Board’s Ward 5 representative, Jessica Grant, will end her appointed term in office on June 30. The available term will be from July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2022.

Despite receiving no nominations for Ward 5, the Council did receive some on May 13 for the School Board’s Ward 2 and Ward 6 seats. Pam Lease of Clay Street re-nominated Ward 2 School Board representative Amy Phillips for another three-year term. For Ward 6, Carrie Johnson, the School Board’s current at-large representative, nominated Heather Bunn, citing that Bunn has three children enrolled in Franklin’s school system, two of which were recognized earlier that evening as members of the Blackwater Robotics team. Anthony Rawlings then nominated Grant. He acknowledged that Grant was the current Ward 5 School Board representative but claimed that she planned to relocate to Ward 6 in the near future.

The immediate past Ward 6 representative, Bob Holt, stepped down at the end of April, as was previously reported in the Wednesday, May 8 edition of The Tidewater News, after being informed by City Attorney H. Taylor Williams IV that because he had relocated to another ward, he could no longer hold that seat.

According to a memorandum from City Manager Amanda Jarratt to the members of City Council included in the agenda packet for Monday’s meeting, interviews for Ward 5 nominees will be on Tuesday, June 18, at 6 p.m.