Sorority lauds students’ academic work

Published 7:39 pm Tuesday, May 28, 2019

By Norma Jones


Franklin Tri-County Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. had its annual May Week Celebration on Sunday, May 5, First Baptist Church, Franklin. May Week is a national program of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. that was created in 1920. A week in May is set aside for programs highlighting academic and professional achievements, and the events emphasize the importance of higher education in the community, especially for black women. The theme chosen for the 2019 celebration was “Preparing For The Future … Through Past Experiences.”

The speaker was Dr. Maurice A. Smith Jr., who conducts research and assists with teaching in the areas of youth development, urban and rural 4-H, and agricultural and extension education at Virginia State University.

Students were recognized for their outstanding academic achievement from Franklin: Tayania Rogers, Myroen Barrtt, Christopher Powell and Zariah Mitchell; Southampton: DeKeea Thomas, Alvin Hicks Jr., Skylar Hamlin, Aliyyah Henerson, Amariyanna Williams, Iyanna Goodwyn, Sydney Ivey, Taron Smith, Alyshia Hill, Amani Gary, Elijah Elliott and Zykera Ellsworth; Surry: Kamryn Godsey, Zaria Hardy, Brandon Drew and Jalen Wright; and Sussex: Armani Cheilchani, Martika Hill and Zhane’ Vaughan.

Administrators were also recognized for their untiring administrative leadership: Franklin City Public Schools – Darren Parker, and Muriel Lawrence, Southampton County Public Schools – Rickeita Blunt Jones, Aronda Bell, Darian Bell, Kisha Watford and Derrick Johnson.

Members of the chapter were recognized for job promotions and community service involvement: Vonda Warren Lilley, Kisha Watford, Candance Lankford, Amesheia Grant Warren, Devonda Gary, Norma Jones, Marilyn Lawrence, Natasha Flythe Preau, Angela Artis, Wyndolyn Copeland and Robin Gregg. The event was well attended family members of the honorees and friends.

Norma Jones was the chairperson. Jo Ann Faulk is the chapter president.