Franklin congratulates teachers of 2019

Published 7:52 pm Tuesday, May 21, 2019



The Franklin City school board recognized the recipients of 2018-2019 Teacher of Year awards. Every year, students, teachers, principals and administrators nominate individuals for this award as they give honor and gratitude to those who have served with diligence and passion as teachers and instructors. The recipients of this year’s award for each school are as follows:

• Lizzy Teague – S.P. Morton Elementary School

• Chonda Cofield – J.P. King Middle School

• Suzanne Blythe – Franklin High School

Suzanne Blythe was also selected as Teacher of the Year at the district level, which qualifies her as a nominee for State Teacher of the Year. Blythe told The Tidewater News that she is truly thankful for being chosen for such recognition.

It is with great honor, humility, and appreciation that I accept these awards which have been so graciously bestowed upon me. I feel very fortunate to be a member of the wonderful FCPS Team of dedicated educators,” she said.

Franklin High School was this month’s recipient of the Clean School Award.


In other school news, the school board approved some items during Thursday night’s meeting. The first item was purchase order 19-743, which is for a network router for all three schools. The router will be used to keep network services going in case of failure.

They also passed the Authorization of Signature in Absence of the Division Superintendent Form to begin June 30, 2019 – June 30, 2020

The next item that the board approved was the USDA Agency Agreement for the 2019-2020 school year.

A deed of easement was also approved by the school board, which states that the school board will grant Hayden Village the legal right to use the easement that goes from the south west boundary of Oak Street all the way across the school board property until it reaches the property of Hayden Village along the north and south sides.

A memorandum of agreement with the Tidewater Youth Services Commission was approved in order for the school district to continue supporting their school-based case management program at J.P. King Middle School and to possibly expand the program to Franklin High School. The programs provided by TYSC are meant to provide school-based services for youth who are either at-risk or court-involved with the Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice.

The board also approved an overnight field trip request from the JROTC program at Franklin High School to attend the Army JROTC Cadet Leadership Challenge from June 23-29 in Bowling Green, Virginia.