The Tidewater News again takes Grand Sweepstakes

Published 6:00 pm Tuesday, April 9, 2019

From left are Stephen Faleski, Kenya Smith and Stephen H. Cowles of the newsroom. — Mitzi Lusk Tidewater News


For the fifth time in the six years since the award was first given, The Tidewater News received the 2018 Grand Sweepstakes award from the Virginia Press Association at the organizations’ annual conference and awards banquet in Norfolk on Saturday. The TN also took home its sixth consecutive Advertising Sweepstakes, having won every year since the inaugural award was given for 2013. The newspaper also won the News Sweepstakes award in 2009 and 2012.

Sweepstakes awards are given to the newspaper in each circulation category, based on its frequency of publication and circulation size, which earns the most points in the News and Advertising contests. The Grand Sweepstakes is awarded to the publication earning the most combined points from both the News and Advertising contests. Points are earned based on the judging of work submitted by newspapers in several categories for writing, photography, layout and advertising design. The Iowa Press Association judged this year’s contest.

Tidewater News Publisher Tony Clark is most happy holding up the paper’s Grand Sweepstakes award. — Mitzi Lusk Tidewater News

TN Publisher Tony Clark said of the honors, “For our staff to join with colleagues from around the Commonwealth each spring to honor the incredible work being done by newspapers here both large and small is a motivating and inspiring experience in and of itself. But to be recognized by your peers as one of the best newspapers in the state is another feeling altogether.”

Clark added, “Our staff works so hard and is so dedicated to our cause of quality community journalism, to see their individual work recognized is much more meaningful to me than winning the Sweepstakes.”

In addition to the Sweepstakes awards, designer Crystal Outlaw won one of only three Best In Show awards given for advertising design.

Staff members winning individual prizes in the News contest were:

1st place – Column Writing, Kenya Smith

1st place – Education Writing, Stephen Faleski

1st place – Photo Illustration, Stephen Cowles and Retta Lomax

1st place – Editorial writing, Tony Clark

2nd place – Editorial writing, Stephen Cowles

2nd place – General news writing, Stephen Faleski

3rd place – Public safety writing, Stephen Faleski

Staff members winning individual prizes in the Advertising contest were:

1st place – 2 categories, Retta Lomax

1st place – Ryan Outlaw

1st place – Crystal Outlaw

1st place – Ryan Outlaw and Mitzi Lusk

1st place – Crystal Outlaw and Ryan Outlaw

2nd place – 4 categories, Ryan Outlaw

2nd place – 3 categories, Retta Lomax

2nd place – 2 categories, Crystal Outlaw

3rd place – 5 categories, Ryan Outlaw

3rd place – 3 categories, Retta Lomax

3rd place, Ryan Outlaw and Mitzi Lusk

3rd place, Staff

The complete listing of all awards and recognitions bestowed by the Virginia Press Association at its annual conference and banquet can be viewed on its website,