School board thanks media

Published 5:00 pm Wednesday, October 10, 2018

At its meeting on Aug. 16, the Franklin City School Board unanimously voted to approve of the resolution to place WHRO, The Tidewater News and WLQM-FM Radio on the Virginia School Board Association’s 2018 Media Honor Roll list.

Each year the Virginia School Board Association provides the opportunity for school divisions to select media representatives, who exemplify the following criteria:

• Makes the effort to get to know the superintendent and board chairman.

• Understands the division’s mission and goals.

• Reports school news in a manner that is fair, accurate, and balanced.

• Gives a high-profile position to good news about schools.

• Regularly visits the schools, attends board meetings, etc.

• Maintains a policy of “no surprises” by sharing information with school representatives.

On Sept. 20, 2018, the School Board presented the resolution to Brian Callahan, WHRO Chief Education Office; Stephen H. Cowles, The Tidewater News; and Michael Clark, WLQM-FM Real Country Radio.