New, returning Council members to be sworn in

Published 10:35 am Monday, July 9, 2018

On Monday, retired Southampton County Judge Westbrook J. Parker will attend Franklin’s City Council meeting to administer the oath of office to Mayor Frank Rabil and the three council members who were elected in May.

Greg McLemore, current Ward 3 councilman and Bobby Cutchins, current Ward 6 councilman, were both elected to new terms in May. Wynndolyn Hilliard-Copeland, daughter of retiring councilwoman Mary Hilliard, was also elected in May as the new Ward 5 councilwoman.

The council also intends to present a resolution honoring the elder Hilliard for her 30 years of service on council.

Following the resolution and swearing in of council members, the council is scheduled to have its biennial council organizational meeting, where the members will select a new vice mayor and determine the assignment of members to various boards and commissions.