Indians win regular season, tournament titles

Published 9:47 am Saturday, May 26, 2018

by Wes Griffith

The Southampton Indians varsity baseball team has completed the Tri-Rivers District regular season and Tri-Rivers District Tournament by winning the championships.
Southampton finished the regular season with a 15-3 overall record and a 12-2 district record. The Indians won the Tri-Rivers District Tournament by defeating Brunswick 12-2 and Park View 7-2.
The team started regional play on Friday afternoon, which was to be against either the York Falcons or Mighty Bookers from Booker T. Washington.
The Tri-Rivers All-District Team was announced on Monday:

1st team – Chris Gray (Park View)
1st team – Trevor Cook (Southampton)
1st team – Ray Byrum (Windsor)
2nd team – Charles Britt (Southampton)
2nd team – Dale Vick (Southampton)
2nd team – Jordon Wesson (Brunswick)

1st team – Josh Haydu (Southampton)
2nd team – Jordan Wesson (Brunswick)
1st Base
1st team – Elliott Cross (Southampton)
2nd team – Jefferson Barmoy (Park View)

2nd Base
1st team – Reid Piercey (Park View)
2nd team – Dale Vick (Southampton)

1st team – Davis Powell (Windsor)
2nd team – Jesse Martin (Southampton)

3rd Base
1st team – Carter Johnson (Southampton)
2nd team – Joseph Walker (Brunswick)

1st team – Jacob Council (Windsor)
1st team – Kristopher Walker (Brunswick)
1st team – Keith Crocker (Southampton)
1st team – Preston Battle (Greensville)
2nd team – John Blum (Southampton)
2nd team – Casey Nipper (Southampton)
2nd team – John Hicks (Brunswick)
2nd team – Stephen Cline (Brunswick)

1st team – Hunter Sykes (Park View)
2nd team – Jayton Billups (Southampton) and Justin Wesson (Brunswick)

Designated Hitter
1st team – Ray Byrum (Windsor)
2nd team – Cameron Sheets (Park View)

Honorable Mention from Southampton included Josh Williams and Hunter Rountree
• Player of the Year – Jacob Council (Windsor)
• Coach of the Year – Wes Griffith (Southampton)