Isle of Wight supervisors elect new chairman

Published 10:54 am Friday, January 19, 2018

Isle of Wight County’s Board of Supervisors resumed its tradition of rotating who would serve as chairman this year, voting unanimously during its January organizational meeting to award the position to Hardy District representative Rudolph Jefferson. The meeting was held at 5 p.m. on Jan. 10, having been rescheduled from its original date and time of 11:30 a.m. Jan. 4 due to snow.

Jefferson, who had been up for the position at the beginning of 2017 per the board’s rotation schedule, had been passed over last year in favor of former Carrsville District representative Rex Alphin staying on another year as chairman.

Smithfield District representative Dick Grice then nominated Newport District representative William McCarty to serve a second term as vice chairman, which the board members approved unanimously. Carey Mills Storm was also reappointed unanimously as the board’s clerk.

The only change to the board’s bylaws and rules of procedure this year was a clarification specifying that although the first and third Thursday of each month are designated as the board’s regular work session and meeting respectively, the board may designate other meeting dates as needed. Vice Chairman McCarty suggested amending the bylaws to allow the board to take action during a work session during an emergency situation. However, Windsor District representative Joel Acree said that doing so could seem inappropriate to citizens who have not had the opportunity to speak on an issue. County Attorney Mark Popovich also commented that the Code of Virginia allows the board to call an emergency regular meeting, which would most likely be scheduled back-to-back with a work session, without violating its rules of procedure.

Next came the time to decide this year’s appointments to boards and commissions. Acree and McCarty were reappointed to public works. Grice and newly-elected Carrsville District representative Don Rosie were appointed to community development.

Grice and McCarty were reappointed to tourism. Jefferson and Grice were appointed to parks, recreation and culture. Grice and McCarty were appointed to personnel. Jefferson and Acree were reappointed to public safety.

Acree and Rosie were appointed to Franklin intergovernmental relations. Jefferson and Grice were reappointed to Smithfield intergovernmental relations. Acree and Rosie were appointed to Windsor intergovernmental relations. Grice was reappointed to the commission on aging. Jefferson was appointed to the social services board. McCarty was appointed to Opportunity Inc. Grice was appointed to the Hampton Roads Economic Development Alliance. McCarty was appointed to the Hampton Roads Military and Federal Facilities Alliance.

Acree was appointed to the Hampton Roads Transportation Planning Organization and the Hampton Roads Transportation Accountability Commission. Jefferson was appointed to mayors and chairs. Acree and Grice were appointed to the Western Tidewater Water Authority and Jefferson was appointed to the Western Tidewater Regional Jail.

The board concluded its organizational meeting within an hour and proceeded directly into its monthly work session.