Lady Broncos win tennis match at VSU

Published 9:22 am Friday, May 5, 2017

by Frank A. Davis

The Franklin High School Lady Broncos tennis team won a match on Wednesday, May 3, on the hill at Virginia State University. The Lady Dragons of Appomattox Regional Governor’s School watched as the Lady Broncos edged a 5-4 win over them.

ARGS was short of players and had to automatically forfeit two matches. One in singles and one in doubles. The three game count came down to 3 all at the completion of the singles matches.

Entering doubles play, the Lady Broncos would already be credited with one win for the No. 3 doubles. Therefore, they would need only one win in doubles to win the match. The Lady Broncos No. 2 team of Ayanna Maybry/Sierra Newby fought hard, but came out losing 6-8.

The No. 1 team of Erin Karmilovich/Jada Barnes was sailing easily over the ARGS team and was up 7-5. But the ARGS team turned the momentum and fought off about five match points to tie the game count at 7 all. The Lady Broncos cranked it up again to win the match 7-9.

While on the hill, Dr. Linda Person — the head tennis coach and CIAA Coach of the Year for the Virginia State University Lady Trojans — came out to the courts to greet the Franklin team. Person spoke to the team about the importance of education and gave outstanding instructions of playing tennis. She further addressed tennis after high school in regard to scholarships that are available to players who do seek to play on the college level.

Singles Matches played using an 8-game pro set.

(FHS versus ARGS, respectively)

1. Erin Karmilovich won 8-1 over T. Pagan

2. Jada Barnes lost 1-8 against T. Samuels

3. DeAnna Mayberry lost 2-8 against D. Lindsay

4. Ayanna Maybry lost 2-8 against C. Avery

5. Sierra Newby won 8-8 over K. Carrington

6. Azzure Boyd won by forfeit

Doubles matches played using an 8 game pro set.

(FHS versus ARGS, respectively)

1. Jada Barnes/Erin Karmilovich won 9-7 over T. Pagan/T. Samuels

2. Ayanna Maybry/ Sierra Newby lost 6-8 against D. Lindsay/C.Avery

3. DeAnna Mayberry/Azzure Boyd won by forfeit