Deadline approaching for scholarships

Published 9:21 am Friday, April 21, 2017

The deadlines to apply for the Franklin-Southampton Chamber of Commerce’s Donna C. McCullough Chamber Scholarship and the Christopher D. Ray Public Safety Scholarship are May 1 and May 12 respectively. The Donna C. McCullough scholarship is for $500, intended for an area student with exemplary involvement and service to the community. The Christopher D. Ray scholarship is for $1,000, intended for a high school senior or currently enrolled college student who plans to major in a public safety field such as criminal justice, fire science or paramedic/emergency medicine.

Selection criteria for the Donna C. McCullough scholarship include a minimum GPA of 3.0, community involvement and/or service, leadership activities and academic achievement. Major emphasis for selection is placed on community involvement. Applicants must also respond to the question, “What issue poses the greatest challenge for improving the quality of life in the Franklin-Southampton community and how would you propose to tackle and resolve this issue/problem?”

“The scholarship committee is always impressed with the ideas and solutions presented by the applicants,” said FS Chamber of Commerce Director Teresa Beale. “They offer diverse and thought-provoking suggestions.”

Selection criteria for the Christopher D. Ray scholarship include two letters of recommendation, a public safety major, attending an accredited two-year or four-year college or university, a statement of the applicant’s activities, honors and leadership and any work experience, attached high school transcript and SAT scores if the applicant is an incoming college freshman, proof of acceptance to an accredited college or university if the applicant is an incoming freshman, a copy of college grades if the applicant is a currently enrolled college student. Two essays are also required.

The first essay asks applicants to discuss their proposed course of study, how they reached the decision to choose this field, what they expect to gain from college and their personal goals and ambitions.

The second essay asks students what they value about living in rural Southeastern Virginia and how living there has shaped them.

The Donna C. McCullough scholarship is named for the Chamber’s executive director from 1976-2004, and has been awarded since 1995. The Christopher D. Ray scholarship is named for a Southampton County Sheriff’s deputy who lost his life in the line of duty on Aug. 29, 2009. Ray graduated from Radford University in May 2009 with a degree in criminal justice and had been a deputy for only three months prior to his death. He was a sportsman with a special love for the Nottoway River, where he avidly spent time hunting and fishing with friends and family.

For more information on either scholarship, call the Chamber at 562-4900.