Council may appoint new school board members

Published 11:30 am Saturday, December 10, 2016

Franklin’s city council may appoint new school board members during its regular scheduled meeting on Monday, Dec. 12, at 7 p.m., in city hall, having conducted interviews in closed session with the nominees during the previous week.

Ten people were nominated for school board positions during city council’s public hearing on Monday, Nov. 28, including four members of the immediate past school board administration.

In contention for ward one are Rebecca Jester and former school board member Will Councill. Amy L. Phillips, Carrie Johnson and Susan Carawan are in contention for ward two. Blanche Hicks and former board chair Dr. Andrea Hall-Leonard are in contention for ward three.

No nominations were made for ward four, and thus, no candidates will be considered for the vacant ward four seat.

Former board member Jeanette Austin was the only nominee for ward five, and Ron Rusnack and former board member Bob Holt were both nominated for ward six. Councill, Jester, Phillips, Johnson, Carawan, Hall-Leonard, Rusnack, Holt and Hicks are also in contention for the vacant at-large position.