New mayor, city council member takes office in Franklin

Published 12:28 pm Saturday, July 2, 2016

Throughout this past week, Franklin City Council said goodbye to familiar faces, as the mayoral seat and Ward 4 seat met new ones.

Mayor and long-time councilwoman Raystine Johnson-Ashburn passed on the gavel to the new mayor, Frank Rabil.

Johnson-Ashburn was recognized for her service and given a plaque for serving as the Ward 4 representative from Jan. 27, 1999, to June 30, 2012, and for serving as the mayor from July 1, 2012, until June 30, 2016.

Councilman Benny Burgess made a comment that she would be missed, and although they did not always agree on every topic, she was always able to work professionally with the rest of council.

Ward 4 representative Mona Murphy was also given a plaque for her service, as the new representative Linwood Johnson was sworn in.

She served on council from July 1, 2012, until June 30, 2016. Murphy had also previously served on on the school board. She noted that although she will no longer be on council, she still plans to attend the meetings and serve Franklin in anyway she can.

The new council will have their first meeting on Monday, July 11, with Rabil being the mayor and Johnson being the Ward 4 representatives.

The Ward 6 seat is now open and council plans to discuss the policy on how that will be filled during their meeting.