Newsoms town council finalized

Published 10:28 am Wednesday, May 18, 2016

The two remaining spots left on the Newsoms Town Council have been filled, Southampton County Registrar Peggy Davis said on Tuesday. Residents Damian Dwyer and Neil Drake have accepted their nominations and will join Joseph Steward, Kendall Brock, Judith Rose and Wesley Story on the council.

Dwyer received eight votes on the 61 ballots cast during the May 3 elections, while Drake collected five. Jonathan Hinson and former councilman Donald Bowling, meanwhile, declined the nomination after receiving five votes each.

Both nominees were unavailable for comment on Tuesday.

The six councilmen, as well as new mayor Vanless Worrell, will be sworn into office on June 1. With the recent turmoil in the town, which includes — but is not limited to — its former mayor and vice mayor unlawfully holding closed meetings and attempting to terminate the town’s police chief, council simply wants move the town in a positive direction.

“We need a unified council to sort through all of the problems, be honest and do what’s best for the town,” Steward said.