Planning Commission reappoints three

Published 9:46 am Friday, May 6, 2016

With three of the planning commission’s nine terms set to expire at the end of April, the Southampton County Board of Supervisors reappointed Douglas Chesson, Oliver Parker and Keith Tennessee to the positions as representatives of their respective districts.

In March, the board approved the restructuring of terms so that two expire each year, meaning that Chesson will serve a four-year term as the Berlin-Ivor representative, Parker will serve three years as the at-large representative and Tennessee will serve one year as the Drewryville representative.

“I’m not sure how so many of these terms have come to expire concurrently, but the clear intent of the enabling legislation is to provide for staggered terms that most closely balances the annual number of appointments of a four-year period,” county administrator Mike Johnson said at the March meeting.

Terms for the Boykins-Branchville and Jerusalem districts expire in April 2018, effectively staggering the terms. All subsequent appointments will be for four years.