Localities support Cosgrove in primary

Published 11:37 am Saturday, June 13, 2015

The polls opened on Tuesday for the Republicans of Western Tidewater to choose their candidate for the upcoming Virginia Senate Race.

Incumbent John A. Cosgrove Jr. received the majority vote, and with no Democrat running against him, was unofficially elected for his second term in office. Cosgrove has previously served in the Virginia House of Delegates for District 78 from 2002 to August 2013, when he was elected to the District 14 seat of the Virginia Senate in a special election.

Cosgrove faced a tight race in the City of Franklin, marginally defeating his fellow candidate William “Bill” Haley, 35-34. He claimed Isle of Wight County’s votes 75-17, and Southampton’s 69-48. Across the entirety of District 14, Cosgrove beat Haley 2,586-1,417.

Barring no major upset, Cosgrove will officially begin his new term in January, representing Franklin, Southampton, Isle of Wight, Suffolk, Chesapeake, Portsmouth and Virginia Beach.