IOW Bar Association announces endorsements

Published 11:23 am Wednesday, May 27, 2015

To the Editor:

At its meeting on March 20, 2015, the Isle of Wight County Bar Association adopted unanimously a resolution endorsing: Sharon Nelms Jones for re-election as Clerk of the Circuit Court of Isle of Wight County; Mark A. Marshall for re-election as Sheriff of Isle of Wight County; and Georgette Phillips for Commonwealth’s Attorney of Isle of Wight County.

• Mrs. Jones has proven herself a committed and outstanding servant of the public and our judicial system, first as Deputy Clerk beginning in 1976, continuing as Chief Deputy Clerk since 1995, and then being duly elected Clerk in 2007. We have full faith that she will continue to serve with distinction and excellence in providing outstanding public service that the citizens of Isle of Wight County have long enjoyed during her tenure.

• Sheriff Marshall has distinguished himself as Sheriff of Isle of Wight County since his first term began on Jan. 1, 2012. During the previous 18 years, he had served as Chief of Police of the Town of Smithfield, proving himself a competent, capable and effective law enforcement officer with the highest integrity. In total, he has served in state and local law enforcement for 30 years. Sheriff Marshall enjoys a solid working relationship with the local court system, Commonwealth’s Attorney, the citizens of Isle of Wight County, Virginia, and other local, state and national law enforcement organizations.

We have full faith that he will continue to provide to the citizens of Isle of Wight County the same honest and outstanding public service that they have enjoyed during his current term.

• Mrs. Phillips has distinguished herself as an outstanding attorney in serving the citizens of Isle of Wight County for the past 14 years as Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorney. She has served in that capacity under former Commonwealth’s Attorneys W. Parker Councill and L. Wayne Farmer.

We have full faith that she will carry on the tradition of outstanding performance to the citizens of Isle of Wight County as did her predecessors.

Consequently, our Bar Association encourages the voters of Isle of Wight to re-elect Sharon Nelms Jones Clerk of the Circuit Court; to re-elect Mark A. Marshall Sheriff; and to elect Georgette Phillips Commonwealth’s Attorney on Nov. 3.

Charles T. Griffith