Board of Supervisors reappoints chairman

Published 9:42 am Wednesday, January 28, 2015

The Southampton County Board of Supervisors had its annual reorganizational meeting on Monday evening, as Virginia statutes require each local governing body to resolve certain organizational matters at its first session of the new year. This includes, but is not limited to, electing a chairman and vice-chairman and setting monthly meeting times.

Dallas O. Jones of the Drewreyville District was unanimously reappointed by his colleagues on the board to serve a 12th year as chairman.

“I’ll try to represent you all well, and try not to let you down,” he said, as his peers congratulated him on his reelection.

Ronald M. West of the Berlin/Ivor District also returns to his seat as vice chairman, a position he has had for two years.

The supervisors also unanimously agreed to hold meetings at 6 p.m. on the fourth Monday of each months, a practice that has been in effect for the past three years. If the chairman and/or the vice chairman are unable to attend, or if hazardous conditions do not allow the public to attend the scheduled meeting, it will take place the following business day.

There was also a brief discussion regarding the formal start time of the meetings, as the closed session portion of the meeting begins at 6 p.m., while the public forum commences an hour later.