Franklin players receive all-conference nods

Published 11:26 am Saturday, November 23, 2013

FRANKLIN—The All-Conference teams for Conference 41 for the 1A Virginia High School Football league has been announced.

Representing the Franklin Broncos for First Team offense are Jason Nguyen, guard; Dominique Gainey, tackle; LaQuadric Pittman, quarterback; Corey Porter, running back, wideout, and kick return; Marcus Stephens, running back; Jesus Padilla, place kicker; Tyrique Warren, center; Terry Warren, utility back.

First Team defense members are Dominique Gainey, defensive line; Terry Warren, linebacker; Corey Porter, defensive back; Antonio Elliott, defensive end; Aaron Sumblin, defensive line; Alson Cromwell, linebacker.

Second Team offense members are Khirey Reese, guard; Steffon Person, tackle; Corey Porter, tight end; Latrell Lane, running back; Darrian Duck, wide out.

Second Team defense members are Jack Sykes, defensive line; Latrell Lane, linebacker; Malcolm Walker, defensive line; LaQuadric Pittman, defensive back; Javonte Baker, linebacker. Quayshun Jefferson, defensive end, received an Honorable Mention.

Marcus Stephens was named Offensive Player of the Year, and Terry Warren was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Darren Parker and staff were named Coach of the Year.

The conference is made up of Franklin, Surry, Sussex and Northampton. The Broncos are the conference champions.