Franklin Council OKs additions to advisory board

Published 11:50 am Friday, August 16, 2013

FRANKLIN—The Franklin City Council approved four additions to the Franklin Department Social Services Advisory Board, voting 5-1 with Ward 3 Councilor Gregory McLemore being the dissenting vote.

Clyde Parker, Welton Deshields Jr., Tanya Hunter and Philip Page Jr. have been named, said City Manager Randy Martin.

“They will advise the director and myself on any actions the department takes,” he said.

“I’m very pleased because we have a diversity of appointments,” said director Alan Hogge. “We have folks with long ties to Franklin, and some newer residents of the city, which will help us coordinate with the service providers in the city.”

He said one of the department goals is to better coordinate with providers in the city.

“We are just making sure that we are reaching everyone in the city that is in need,” Hogge said.

He said due to a lack of participation from the board, the new members were added to round up the 7-member board. The other members are Pat Ballard, who is vice chair, Earl Blythe and Louise Lankford-Morings.

“Each of these members has an interest in serving and will bring something new to the board, whether that is perspective, education or just a connectedness to the city,” he said. “We are looking forward to those new members participation and engagement in our work.”

An advisory board was established to provide better citizen input on social services. The board meets in the department conference room at City Hall on the third Thursday every other month at 3 p.m.

McLemore could not be reached for comment on Thursday.