Franklin School Board reorganizes

Published 2:31 pm Wednesday, July 24, 2013

FRANKLIN—As is custom during its first meeting of the school year, the Franklin School Board reorganized for 2013-2014.

At the start of the meeting, it welcomed new members Dawna Walton, Ward 6, Nancy Godwin, Ward 2, and Jeanette Austin, Ward 5.

“We are exciting about having them here,” said chairperson Edna King. “These are the most informed school board members ever. When we came out of orientation, believe me, they were making motions and were very informed.”

King, at-large, Sherita Ricks-Parker, Ward 4, Johnetta Nichols, Ward 3, and Will Councill, Ward 1, remained on the council from previous terms.

King, who served as the chairperson, was nominated and will continue to do so.

“It has been a real honor serving in this role,” King said. “It does require a lot of hard work, but it would have been impossible to accomplish anything without the people I have been able to work with in the 2012 and 2013 school year. I look forward into moving forward in 2013 and 2014.”

Nichols was also reelected to serve as the vice chairperson.

The council will continue to meet on the third Thursday of each month at 7:30 p.m.