School board elects new officers

Published 11:07 am Wednesday, July 10, 2013

COURTLAND—The Southampton County School Board voted at its Monday meeting for Dr. Deborah Goodwin to become the new chairperson, replacing Chris Smith.

Roberta Naranjo was elected vice chairperson. Superintendent Dr. Alvera Parrish and Dr. W.K. Smith were elected as clerk and deputy clerk, respectively. The board also agreed to continue its meeting schedule of 7 p.m. the second Monday of each month at the Wigwam in the Technical Career Center on the Southampton High School campus.

If she is going to be absent from the meetings, the superintendent can designate a substitute.

Salaries for board members are set at $5,000 annually, with the chairperson allowed $300 extra and mileage for regular meetings at 32.5 cents per mile.