PDCCC approves Advisory Committee members

Published 11:11 am Tuesday, July 10, 2012

FRANKLIN—The Paul D. Camp Community College Board has named members to its Advisory Committee for being leaders in their field.

Members will assist faculty and administration in planning, conducting and evaluating each occupational/technical program. They also provide counsel in the development of new programs that reflect the changing needs for trained personnel in the community.

Those appointed were:

ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE—Det. Sgt. Wanda Covington with the Southampton County Sheriff’s Office; David Everett, regional operations director for the Virginia Department of Corrections; Sgt. Dennis Greene with the Suffolk Police; Franklin Police Chief Phillip Hardison; 1st Sgt. Gregory Jackson with the Virginia State Police; Lt. Alfred Lenyoun, Capt. Daniel Maskelony and Maj. Antonio Parham, all with the Western Tidewater Regional Jail; Anthony Parson, assistant security shift supervisor of Nuclear Protection Services at Surry Nuclear Power Station; Southampton County Sheriff Jack Stutts; and Capt. James Taylor III of the Academy for Staff Development at the Virginia Department of Corrections

ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT TECHNOLOGY—Jane Bleiler of Suffolk; Carolyn Crowder, retired from PDCCC Division of Workforce Development; Peggy Jernigan of Gatesville, N.C.; Carolyn Joyner, personnel analyst with the City of Franklin; Yolanda Buck with the materials management department of Tidewater Community College; Tawana Ford, assistant principal at Kings Fork Middle School; Joyce Johnson, utility billing clerk with the City of Franklin; Bessie Smith of Franklin

BUSINESS AND INFORMATION SYSTEMS TECHNOLOGY—Linda Burkett, manager IT at International Paper’s Franklin mill; Cindy Ferguson of Travel Dreams; Bill Hatch, technical specialist of Southampton County Public Schools; Thomas Czerwinski, instructor at the Department of Correctional Education; Keith Edwards, Virginia Information Technology Agency; Ron Davenport, senior principal consultant with Keane Inc.; Brenda Vaughan with TMC Design Corp.; Amanda Jarratt, president and chief executive officer of Franklin/Southampton Economic Development Inc.

CHILDCARE/EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENT—Mary Bellamy, director of Children of Faith Daycare; Connie Burgess, teacher at Riverdale Elementary School and adjunct instructor at Paul D. Camp Community College; Ida Council, area supervisor of Community Development Institute at Head Start; Lori White, registered nurse for Healthy Families/First Steps Coordinator at Sentara Obici Hospital; Dorothy Bryant, site supervisor at The Children’s Center; Renee Copeland-Rose, teaching assistant at Mack Benn Elementary School; Ellen Couch, director of Smart Beginnings Western Tidewater

ELECTRICITY/INDUSTRIAL TECHNOLOGY, WELDING—Dr. Stanley Brantley Jr., vice president of engineering at Amadas Industries; Kenneth Bunch, director of business development at Community Electric Cooperative; Kelley Conaway, coordinator of instruction with Franklin City Public Schools; Mike Conroy with Arcet; Anthony King, adjunct instruction at PDCCC; Clyde Parker, community liaison, retired from Franklin Equipment Co.; Frank Rickman, Southampton/ Franklin Habitat for Humanity; Thomas Sanford of Franklin; James Strozier, chief operating officer for Highground Services

NURSING AND ALLIED HEALTH—Esther Francis, administrator of long-term care at Southampton Memorial Hospital; Dr. Candace Rogers, registered nurse, nursing and allied health program lead at PDCCC; Deborah Spruill, registered nurse, corporate quality assurance nurse, Autumn Corp.; Gwen Sweat, registered nurse, licensed practice nurse program head at Sentara Obici Hospital; Carol Wright, registered nurse and associate professor of nursing at PDCCC; Ann Pinner, associate professor of nursing at PDCCC; Edna King of Franklin, community representative; Laurie Ross, registered nurse and chief nursing officer at Southampton Memorial Hospital; and Phyllis Stoneburner, registered nurse and vice president for Patient Care Services at Sentara Obici Hospital