Registering vehicles late will cost $10 extra

Published 11:03 am Tuesday, June 19, 2012

RICHMOND—Beginning July 1, a new Virginia law adds a $10 fee if motorists renew their vehicle registration decals after they expire.

Customers can renew decals at or by calling 1-888-337-4782. If renewing by mail, send at least seven to 10 days in advance of the expiration date. A $5 service fee is added to registration renewals conducted at Department of Motor Vehicles service centers.

Also beginning July 1, all driver’s licenses will cost at least $20. Most Virginians get a driver’s license that’s valid for eight years costing $32. The new law requires individuals who have lost their licenses to pay $20 instead of $10 for a replacement.

DMV issues about 400,000 replacement licenses annually, less than 9 percent of Virginia’s 5.5 million licensed drivers. On average, it costs DMV about $26.85 to issue a driver’s license.


Similarly, the new law standardized the cost for vehicle titles, making them all $10, beginning in July. While most titles already cost $10, replacements cost $5 and supplemental titles cost $6.