Three-term councilwoman voted in as Ivor mayor

Published 9:27 am Wednesday, May 2, 2012

COURTLAND—Ivor voters chose three-term Councilwoman Sandy Vick for their new mayor, while Newsoms Mayor Harvey Porter won a seventh two-year term on Tuesday.

Vick, who manages residential rental properties, could not be reached.

Vick, 68, garnered 88 votes to Larry Smith’s 16; the town has 230 registered voters. Both ran after Mayor Keith Joyner chose not to seek re-election to the two-year seat.

“Congratulations, I wish her the best of luck,” said Smith, the 42-year-old owner of a wholesale auto parts business in Portsmouth.

Porter received 52 votes to Bryan Flythe’s 16.

Porter thanked the voters in Newsoms for having the confidence to re-elect him.

“I really don’t attribute it to anything except that,” said the 71-year-old Virginia Department of Transportation retiree, who also worked in wholesale peanut and auto sales.

Flythe, a 53-year-old trucker, was surprised at the low voter turnout and congratulated Porter.

A one-term councilman, Flythe will no longer be on the council because he chose to run for mayor.

In other races:


Mayor Spier Edwards Jr. was re-elected with 113 votes. He was unopposed.

Elected to two-year terms on Town Council were incumbents Linda Beatty and Samuel Drewry, both with 106; F.W. “Freddy” Felts and Carolyn Modlin, both with 105; and challenger Danny Bolton 116. Magdalie “Maggie” Achkey garnered 26 votes.


Mayor Harold Futrell Jr. won with 16. He was unopposed.

Winning two-year seats on Town Council were incumbents Nancy Phelps Barrett 14 and Kelly Joe Ray 15, and newcomers Gail Hinson 12, Roger Milliken Sr. 15, Silvie Worrell-Murphy 14 and Susan Nace 16.


Mayor W. Nick Kitchen IV won with 14. He was unopposed.

Winning two-year seats were incumbents Vernon Francis II 11, William Jarratt Jr. 11, Erma Joyner 14, Deborah Starke 10 and Reginald Vaughan Sr. 10, and newcomer Jere Detwiler 12.


Mayor Danny Williams won with 55 votes. He was unopposed.

Winning seats in District A were incumbent Maxine Nowlin 13 and newcomer Rheila Johnson 8; District B incumbent Jerry Morgan 29 and Jason Fowler 27; and District C incumbent Lou Anne Jones Davis 12 and Stanley Piersa Jr. 10.


Winning two-year seats were incumbents Wayne “Junkyard” Clark 72, Wayne Felts 83, Richard Hickman 72 and Thomas Pittman 82; and newcomers Clifton Carr Jr. 88 and Donald Rea Edwards 66.


Winning two-year seats on council were incumbents Kenneth Cook 51, Judith Rose 39 and Joseph Steward 40; and newcomers Donald Bowling 43, Clayton Gaskins 37 and Shawn Geary 43.


Winning seats were J.C. “Clint” Bryant 68, Durwood Scott 67 and J. Greg Willis 69.