Mayoral races in Ivor, Newsoms Tuesday

Published 8:33 am Friday, April 27, 2012

COURTLAND—There will be competitive races for mayor in Ivor and Newsoms during Tuesday’s May 1 election.

In Newsoms, one-term Councilman Bryan Flythe is challenging Mayor Harvey Porter, who is vying for a sixth term.

In Ivor, Councilwoman Sandy Vick and Larry Smith are running for mayor. Mayor Keith Joyner chose not to seek re-election to the two-year seat.

During Porter’s tenure, taxes have not been raised and he hopes to get grants to deal with water drainage issues in town. A recent study shows it will cost $1.6 million to take care of the problem.

“We are seeking grants to apply for,” the 71-year-old said.

A retiree of the Virginia Department of Transportation, who also worked in wholesale peanut and auto sales, Porter is also pleased with being involved with creating a police department, which employs one full- and one part-time officer.

Flythe, 53, also was involved with creating the police department and agrees with Porter that drainage issues should be funded with grants.

A trucker, he also supports the opening of a bank in Newsoms after BB&T closed its branch in January.

A three-term councilwoman, Vick said she is running because she feels she can make a difference in the community. If elected, she will be the first female mayor in Ivor’s history.

Vick, 68, who manages residential rental properties, also wants to make Ivor a safe place to live and play.

She sees drainage after heavy rains as a top issue and would like to do something about slowing speeding motorists in town by working with the Southampton County Sheriff’s Office.

Smith, 42, who owns a wholesale auto parts business in Portsmouth, wants to make Ivor a better community for everyone. He too believes drainage is a problem.

“I just think I can make a difference and I think I can make the community better,” Smith said.

In other communities:


Mayor Spier Edwards Jr. is unopposed.

Six candidates running for five, two-year terms on Town Council are incumbents Linda Beatty, Samuel Drewry, F.W. “Freddy” Felts and Carolyn Modlin and challengers Magdalie “Maggie” Achkey and Danny Bolton. Councilman Gary Baugham is not running for re-election.


Mayor Harold Futrell Jr. is unopposed.

Running for six, two-year seats on Town Council are incumbents Nancy Phelps Barrett and Kelly Joe Ray and newcomers Gail Hinson, Roger Milliken Sr., Silvie Worrell-Murphy and Susan Nace. Council members Beronica Casper, Franklin Phelps and Susan Phelps are not running for re-election.


Mayor W. Nick Kitchen IV is unopposed.

Running for six, two-year seats are incumbents Vernon Francis II, William Jarratt Jr., Erma Joyner, Deborah Starke and Reginald Vaughan Sr. and newcomer Jere Detwiler. Councilman Barry Williams is not seeking re-election.


Mayor Danny Williams is unopposed.

In District A, Councilwoman Maxine Nowlin and newcomer Rheila Johnson are running for two seats. Councilwoman Mary Hill is not seeking re-election.

In District B, incumbent Jerry Morgan and Jason Fowler are running for two seats. Councilman Stanley Piersa cannot represent District B anymore due to redistricting. He is running in District C.

In District C, incumbent Lou Anne Jones Davis is also running for one of two seats. Councilman George Kitchen is not running.


Running for six two-year seats are incumbents Wayne “Junkyard” Clark, Wayne Felts, Richard Hickman and Thomas Pittman and newcomers Clifton Carr Jr. and Donald Rea Edwards. Councilman Frank Cook Jr. is not seeking re-election.


Running for six two-year seats on council are incumbents Kenneth Cook, Judith Rose and Joseph Steward and newcomers Donald Bowling, Clayton Gaskins and Shawn Geary. Council members Chris Evans and Randall Phipps are not seeking re-election. Bryan Flythe is running for mayor.