Mayors face opposition in Newsoms, Ivor

Published 10:06 am Saturday, March 10, 2012

COURTLAND—There will be races for mayor in two Southampton County communities for the May 1 election.

In Newsoms, one-term Councilman Bryan Flythe is challenging Mayor Harvey Porter.

In Ivor, Mayor Keith Joyner will not seek re-election. Councilwoman Sandy Vick and Larry Smith have thrown their hat in the ring for the two-year seat.

Porter could not be reached Friday.

Flythe, 53, said he sees the job of mayor as an opportunity to do something different.

“I was assistant chief for two years and chief for seven years (for Drewryville Volunteer Fire Department) and see this as another challenge in life,” he said.

A trucker, Flythe sees water drainage issues during heavy rains as Newsoms’ main issue.

A three-term councilwoman, Vick said she is running because she feels she can make a difference in the community. If elected, she will be the first female mayor in Ivor’s history.

“With my experience from the past six years, I can continue the strong leadership we have,” she said. “I think we serve the town well and we want to continue to build community spirit.”

Vick, 68, manages residential rental properties and has lived in Ivor for 31 years.

Smith could not be reached.

In other communities:



Mayor Spier Edwards Jr. is unopposed.

Six candidates running for five two-year terms on Town Council are incumbents Linda Betty, Samuel Drewry, F.W. “Freddy” Felts and Carolyn Modlin and challengers Magdalie “Maggie” Achkey and Danny Bolton. Councilman Gary Baugham is not running for re-election.



Mayor Harold Futrell Jr. is unopposed.

Running for six two-year seats on Town Council are incumbents Nancy Phelps Barrett and Kelly Joe Ray and newcomers Gail Hinson, Roger Milliken Sr., Silvie Worrell-Murphy and Susan Nace. Council members Beronica Casper, Franklin Phelps and Susan Phelps are not running for re-election.



Mayor W. Nick Kitchen IV is unopposed.

Running for six two-year seats are incumbents Vernon Francis II, William Jarratt Jr., Erma Joyner, Deborah Starke and Reginald Vaughan Sr. and newcomer Jere Detwiler. Councilman Barry Williams is not seeking re-election.



Mayor Danny Williams is unopposed.

In District A, Councilwoman Maxine Nowlin and newcomer Rheila Johnson are running for two seats. Councilwoman Mary Hill is not seeking re-election.

In District B, incumbent Jerry Morgan and Jason Fowler are running for two seats. Councilman Stanley Piersa cannot represent District B anymore due to redistricting. He is running in District C.

In District C, incumbent Lou Anne Jones Davis is also running for one of two seats. Councilman George Kitchen is not running.



Running for six two-year seats are incumbents Wayne “Junkyard” Clark, Wayne Felts, Richard Hickman and Thomas Pittman and newcomers Clifton Carr Jr. and Donald Rea Edwards. Councilman Frank Cook Jr. is not seeking re-election.



Running for six two-year seats on council are incumbents Kenneth Cook, Judith Rose and Joseph Steward and newcomers Donald Bowling, Clayton Gaskins and Shawn Geary. Council members Chris Evans and Randall Phipps are not seeking re-election. Bryan Flythe is running for mayor.