Franklin golfers win district tourney

Published 9:06 am Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Franklin High School's golf team members who won the Tri-Rivers District Tournament on Monday are, in front from left, Grant Scarboro and Tony Bland; and in back, Tevin Sumblin, Clay Blythe, Zack Hopkins, Chad Benton and Coach David Lease. SUBMITTED

PETERSBURG—Franklin’s golf team won Monday’s Tri-Rivers District Tournament, scoring a 380. Sussex finished second with a 400.

“We had nine kids under 100,” said Franklin Coach Dave Lease, who for a second year was named the district’s Coach of the Year. “That’s a first time I can recall that happening. We had two at 90, one in the lower 90s and one at 94. Our kids played very well.”

Windsor did not have a team score because only three out of the required four players completed the 18-hole match at Dogwood Trace Golf Course in Petersburg.

The district tournament was one of the most competitive in the last five years,” said Windsor Coach Broc Smith. “Nine golfers scored in the 90s. I can’t remember when that happened last.”

Franklin took the district title last week after posting a 14-1 season. The title qualified the Broncos’ top six players — senior Tony Bland and juniors Zack Hopkins, Grant Scarboro, Tevin Sumblin, Chad Benton and Clay Blythe — for the regional tournament. That will be played Monday, Oct. 3, at Quinton Oakes Golf Course in Callao, where Northumberland is the host. About 20 Region A schools will be represented at the event.

“We gotta get a little better for the regionals and need to be shooting in the 80s,” Lease said. “We will work on it this week and try to improve some on little things.”

Advancing to the regional tournament from Windsor are Cody Reese, Aaron Ashby and Sean Dejiacomo.

At Monday’s district tournament, Jared Latham from Sussex won, shooting an 89 on the par-72 course. Latham for the second year in a row was named the district’s Player of the Year.

Hopkins and Scarboro followed with 90, Chelsea Kaleita from Surry had a 92, Bland 94, Reese  94, Tatianna Calhoon from Sussex 96, Ashby  97, Jacob Pitman from Sussex 98 and Tevin Sumblin from Franklin 106.

Named to the All-District Team were Latham, Scarboro, Hopkins, Bland, Reese and Kaleita.

Named to the All-Academic Team were Latham, Donald Vann, Reese, Hopkins, Scarboro, Sumblin and Benton.