Hunterdale fire chief honored

Published 10:29 am Saturday, February 5, 2011

Recognized during the annual banquet for Hunterdale Volunteer Fire Department, in conjunction with Franklin Fire and Rescue, were, from left in front, Katie Gray, Brittany Lowe and Ryan Moore; and in back, Leslie Pearce, Eddie Turner, Shawn Artis, Ritchie Carr and Mike Black.

Hunterdale Volunteer Fire Department Chief David Blythe was recognized at the group’s annual banquet for his 30 years of service.

Blythe is a third-generation firefighter. His son, Clay, recently joined the department.

The promotions of three Hunterdale firefighters also were announced during the dinner held in conjunction with Franklin Fire and Rescue at the American Legion Hall. Chris Turner was named assistant chief, Mark Pierce was tapped as a rescue lieutenant and Bud Cutchins was named fire lieutenant.

Ryan Moore, who responded to 105 calls in 2010, was chosen as the EMS Provider of the Year for Hunterdale. Mike Black got the Firefighter of the Year Award for answering 193 calls.

A three-way tie for the Special Achievement Award went to Doug Edwards, Katie Gray and Eddie Turner of Hunterdale.

Brittany Lowe was named Junior Firefighter of the Year for the Hunterdale group. Shawn Artis was presented the Junior Firefighter of the Year for the Franklin department.

This year’s recipient of the Garland A. Duck Volunteer of the Year Award was Ritchie Carr. His peers chose Carr for the honor.

Franklin Fire and Rescue Secretary Leslie Pearce received the 2010 James M. Wagonback Award. Career staff and volunteers also voted on this for Pearce.