Saluting those who have helped make PDCCC great

Published 9:36 am Friday, December 10, 2010


As 2010 winds down, we celebrate the many people who make a difference for Paul D. Camp Community College in diverse ways.

In addition to generous donors who have enriched the college by supporting scholarships, professional development activities and building initiatives, we are blessed with dedicated members of our college and foundation boards — and we salute them today.

Salute to Board Members

The local College Board is composed of representatives from the college’s service area, which includes the cities of Franklin and Suffolk and the counties of Isle of Wight and Southampton. Appointed by their jurisdictions, board members are Meredith Felts Jr. (Chairman) of Wakefield and Syretha Wright; Felicia Blow, Patrick Newman and Vivian Wilkins of Franklin; Robert Claud and Lynn Jones of Windsor; Patricia Sowell (Vice Chairman) of Carrsville; and Richard Brooks, Jean Copeland, Sam Glasscock and Kermit Hobbs of Suffolk. Acting in an advisory capacity, the Board assures the college responds to needs in its service region within the statewide policies, procedures and regulations of the State Board for Community Colleges.

The PDCCC Foundation Board has 14 directors. In addition to the college president and vice president for institutional advancement, they include Billy Gwaltney (President) of Windsor; Sandy Mann (Vice Chairwoman) of Carrollton; Herb DeGroft of Smithfield; J.R. Boyce (Treasurer) and Scott Carr (Immediate Past President) of Suffolk; Roger Drake, Kendall Edwards and Glenn Rawlings of Franklin; Phil Bain of Ivor; Lynda Updike of Newsoms; and Nancy Nagle Bolio of Richmond. A not-for-profit organization, the foundation is organized to secure resources that promote the continuing progress of the college.

Advisory committees

We are also grateful to the members of our Advisory committees, who assist the faculty and administration in planning, conducting and evaluating each of the college’s occupational-technical programs. They also provide counsel in the development of new programs that reflect the changing needs for trained personnel in the community. Following are several examples:

• Administration of Justice members include David Everett, Warden (Sussex II Prison); Det. Dennis Greene (Suffolk Police Department); Chief Phil Hardison (Franklin Police Department); Sgt. Gregory Jackson (Virginia State Police); Capts. Daniel Maskelony and Antonio Parham, Western Tidewater Regional Jail (Suffolk); Anthony Parson, Assistant Security Shift Supervisor (Nuclear Protection Services, Surry Nuclear Power Station); Dennis Stephens of Franklin; Sgt. Wanda Stivers (Southampton County Sheriff’s Office); and Captain James C. Taylor, III, Training and Development Coordinator (Virginia Department of Corrections).

• Administrative Support Technology members include Carolyn Crowder of Franklin; Jane Bleiler and Tawana Ford (Kings Fork High School Assistant Principal) of Suffolk; Yolanda Buck (Tidewater Community College) of Norfolk; Peggy Jernigan of Gates, N.C.; Joyce Johnson (utility billing clerk) and Carolyn Joyner (personnel analyst) with City of Franklin; and Bessie Smith of Franklin.

• Business & Information Systems Technology members include Linda Burchett; Cindy Ferguson (Travel Dreams); John Smolak, President (Franklin/Southampton Economic Development) of Franklin; Ron Davenport, Senior Principal Consultant (Keane, Inc.) of Chesapeake; Bill Hatch, Technical Specialist (Southampton County Schools); Brenda Vaughan, CMP (TMC Design Corp.) of Smithfield; Thomas Czerwinski (Department of Corrections); Keith Edwards (Virginia Information Technology Agency); Sue Labrato, Human Resources Manager (Thomas J. Lipton Co.); and Stephen Meyers, Commercial Product Manager-America (CIBA).

• Child Care/Early Childhood advisory committee members include Dorothy Bryant, teacher (The Children’s Center); Mary Bellamy, Director (Children of Faith Daycare); Ellen Couch, Director (Smart Beginnings); Connie Burgess, teacher (Riverdale Elementary School); Ida Council, Area Supervisor (Southampton County Head Start); Renee Copeland (Mt. Zion Elementary School; Lori White, a registered nurse with Healthy Families/First Steps Coordinator (Sentara Obici Hospital), Suffolk.

• Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning advisory committee members include Parker Darden (Parker Darden); Jim Henderson (Henderson Heat and Air); Kevin Roughton and Elliott Whitfield (S.W. Rawls); Glenn Rawlings (Rawlings Mechanical Corp.); and Carolyn and W.L. Jones (W.L. Jones Electric).

For options at PDCCC, call 569-6700, or visit

DR. PATSY JOYNER is the vice president for institutional advancement at Paul D. Camp Community College. Her e-mail address is