Southampton County school board members reappointed

Published 9:29 am Wednesday, June 23, 2010

COURTLAND—Three members of the Southampton County School Board have been reappointed to new four-year terms.

The School Board Selection Commission of Southampton County reappointed Roberta Naranjo, Christopher Smith and Diane B. Jones on June 1. Naranjo and Smith represent the Boykins/Branchville and Jerusalem districts, respectively, while Jones is one of two at-large members.

The new terms will begin July 1 and end on June 30, 2014.

Southampton is one of nine counties in Virginia, out of 95 total, that still have their school board members appointed, rather than elected by voters.

According to the state Board of Elections, the other eight counties are Accomack, Alleghany, Amherst, Greensville, Hanover, Northampton, Prince Edward and Richmond.

Most Virginia counties changed from appointed to elected school boards after the General Assembly enacted legislation in April 1992 permitting them to do so.

Under the appointment system, the local Circuit Court appoints three members to four-year terms on the selection commission. According to state law, commission members must be qualified voters who live within the county, and cannot be county or state officers or employed by the school board they will appoint.

Commission members receive $25 a day from the school board for their service.

In Southampton, Robert Cumbey chairs the group. Emerson B. Kitchen Sr. and Mark H. Hodges are the other members.