12 running for Boykins Town Council

Published 8:01 am Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Twelve people are running for five seats on Boykins Town Council on Tuesday, May 4.

Challengers Magdalie H. “Maggie” Ahkey, Gary D. Baugham, Daniel Boone, Samuel B. Drewry Sr., F.W. “Freddy” Felts, Carolyn C. Modlin, Alton H. Overby Jr., J.F. “J.C.” Owen and David A. Stiglitz are running against incumbents Linda Beatty, Michael T. “Mike” Gadsby and Amy J. Gautier.

Precinct: Boykins Fire Station, Railroad Avenue.


Seven people are running for six seats on the Branchville Town Council. Incumbents Nancy Barrett, Roger Hinson, Susan Phelps and Kelly Joe Ray will run against Lundy Sadler, Beronica Casper and Frankie Phelps.

Precinct: Branchville Community Center, Darden Street


For Town Council races, incumbents Mary E. Hill and Maxine Nowlin are running for the two District A seats, while incumbents Jason Fowler and George Kitchen Jr. are running for the two District C seats. In District B, incumbent Stanley Piersa Jr. will be on the ballot.

Precinct: Courtland Fire Station, Highway 58


Six incumbents are seeking re-election to six seats on the Town Council.

They are Deborah B. Starke, Barry K. Williams, Vernie W. Francis III, William G. Jarratt Jr., Erma W. Joyner and Reginald T. Vaughan Sr.

Precinct: Capron Town Hall, Main Street


Six candidates are running for the six seats on the Town Council.

Incumbents Frank Cook Jr., Wayne Felts and Sandra L. Vick will face challengers Wayne “Junkyard” Clark, Richard Hickman and Thomas Pittman.

Precinct: Ivor Fire Station, Main Street


The race for the six seats will include incumbents Kenneth Wayne Cooke and Judith Carol Rose and newcomers Bryan Flythe, Randall Phipps, Joseph Steward and Christopher Evans.

Precinct: Newsoms Fire Station, Highway 671


Incumbent Wesley F. Garris along with N. Macon Edwards III and Patty S. Flemming are vying for three seats on the Town Council.

Precinct: Windsor Volunteer Fire Department, East Windsor Boulevard.

Mayoral races

Incumbent mayors R. Spier Edwards Jr. in Boykins, William Nick Kitchen IV in Capron, Keith H. Joyner in Ivor and Harvey J. Porter Jr. in Newsoms are unopposed for re-election.

Harold Preston Futrell Jr. in Branchville and Danny R. Williams in Courtland are running for mayor. Branchville Mayor Arthur Harris Jr. and Courtland Mayor Lewis H. Davis Sr. are not seeking re-election.

Carita J. Richardson is running unopposed for Windsor mayor. Incumbent Marvin A. Crocker Jr. isn’t seeking re-election.

The polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.