Town candidates qualify

Published 8:42 am Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Elections in all six of the towns in Southampton County have begun to take shape according to Leona Davis, the county registrar.

Four town mayors — Boykins’ Spier Edwards, Capron’s Nick Kitchen, Ivor’s Keith H. Joyner and Newsoms’ Harvey J. Porter Jr. — are all running for re-election unopposed.

Twelve people have tossed their hats into the ring for five seats on the Boykins Town Council, making it by far the most contested race in the county.

Incumbents Linda Beatty, Amy Gautier, Mike Gadsby and Carolyn Modlin will face off against Daniel Boone, Sam Drury, Freddy Felts, Alton Overby, Gary Baugham, Maggie Ahkey, J.C. Owen and David Stiglitz.

In Branchville, Preston Futrell will be the only candidate on the ballot to replace Arthur Harris Jr. as mayor. Harris is not seeking re-election.

Seven people are seeking six seats on the Branchville Town Council. Incumbents Nancy Barrett, Roger Hinson, Susan Phelps and Kelly Joe Ray will run against Lundy Sadler, Beronica Casper and Frankie Phelps.

Another mayor, Courtland’s Lewis H. Davis — Leona Davis’ husband — is also not seeking re-election. Danny Williams will be on the ballot for the town’s top job.

For the Courtland Town Council races, incumbents Mary E. Hill and Maxine Nowlin are running for the two District A seats, while incumbents Jason Fowler and George Kitchen Jr. are running for the two District C seats. In District B only one candidate, incumbent Stanley Piersa Jr., will be on the ballot.

Six candidates will vie for five seats on the Capron Town Council: incumbents Vernie Francis III, William Jarratt Jr., Erma W. Joyner, Deborah Starke, Reginald Vaughan and Barry Williams.

In Ivor, six candidates are running for the six seats on the Town Council, including four incumbents — Wayne “Junkyard” Clark, Frank Cook Jr., Wayne Felts and Sandra L. Vick — and two newcomers, Richard Hickman and Thomas Pittman.

The race for the six seats on the Newsoms Town Council will include incumbents Kenneth Wayne Cooke and Judith Carol Rose and newcomers Bryan Flythe, Randall Phipps, Joseph Steward and Christopher Evans.