Franklin candidates file

Published 8:49 am Wednesday, March 3, 2010

FRANKLIN—Voters will have a choice in all but one Franklin City Council race when they head to the polls in May.

The deadline for candidates to file with the registrar was Tuesday night at 7. Franklin’s Voter Registrar Sandy Holloman said Tuesday night that Don Blythe, Planning Commission member Ray Smith and Jamie Brown are vying to fill the seat that will be vacated by ward 6 Councilman Mark Fetherolf, who isn’t seeking re-election.

Mayor Jim Councill is facing opposition from Planning Commission member James Riddick, Sr.

Greg McLemore, who challenged Councill in the mayoral race two years ago, is challenging Councilwoman Rosa Lawrence in Ward 3. Lawrence is seeking her second term after defeating E. Kent Pope in 2006.

McLemore has been an outspoken critic of the City Council, most recently over its approval of a rate hike for Franklin Power & Light customers. Last week, he presented a proposal to create a “lottery” for Franklin utility customers, which would allow one customer each month to make a donation of all or part of their utility bill to the charity of their choice.

Ward 5 Councilwoman Mary Hilliard is running unopposed. She was re-elected without opposition in 2006.

The general election is May 4.