More people to thank for the success of PDCCC

Published 8:19 am Friday, December 4, 2009

In last week’s column, we expressed thanks for the many community members who serve on our college and foundation boards and our advisory committees. However, our list was so long we were unable to include all of them! In today’s column, we continue our salute to the many people who contribute so much to the success of Paul D. Camp Community College, which also includes area leaders who serve on our Regional Workforce Development Council.

College Advisory Committees

As noted before, advisory committees assist the faculty and administration in planning, conducting, and evaluating each of the College’s Occupational-Technical Programs. They also provide counsel in the developing of new programs that reflect the changing needs for trained personnel in the community. In addition to the advisory committees highlighted in our last column (Administration of Justice, Administrative Support Technology, Business and Information Systems Technology, Child Care/Early Childhood, and Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning), we salute our other advisory committees.

Electricity/Industrial Technology/Welding committee members include Anthony King, Kelley Conaway, Lead Teacher for Instruction (Franklin City Schools), Dennis Cutchins, Mark Ellis, Steve Fowler, Clyde Parker, Frank Rickman, Thomas Sanford, James Strozier, and Howard Vinson of Franklin; Kenneth Bunch, Director of Business Development and Special Projects (Community Electric) of Windsor; Dr. Stanley Brantley, President (Amadas Industries), Mike Conroy (Arcet Welding and Gases), and Roy Frizzell (Outback Electrical Services) of Suffolk; Bruce Harrup of Sedley; Clyde Jones of Carrsville; Scott Weatherford (Southampton High School) of Courtland; and Corbin Robbins (Northrup Grumman Corporation) of Newport News.

Nursing and Allied Health members include Esther Francis, Administrator (East Pavilion, Southampton Memorial Hospital); Laurie Ross, Interim Chief Nursing Officer (Southampton Memorial Hospital); Edna King, Community Representative; Carole Dixon, Coordinator, Health and Medical Sciences (Franklin High School); Ercell Vann, LPN Program Head (Southampton Memorial Hospital); Ann Pinner and Carol Wright, RN Faculty and Dr. Candace Rogers, Nursing Program (PDCCC); Deborah Spruill, Corporate Quality Assurance Nurse (Autumn Care); Gwen Sweat, LPN Program Head and Phyllis Stoneburner, VP for Patient Care Services (Sentara Obici Hospital).

Workforce Development Services

Serving Business and Industry throughout the Western Hampton Roads Region, the Division of Workforce Development at Paul D. Camp Community College offers a variety of training and educational options to meet the needs of new and existing employers.

The full array of workforce services includes customized training; open-enrollment courses and seminars; business start-up and expansion training; consulting, coaching, and facilitation services; and job profiling and job candidate assessment. Providing invaluable input for programs and services are 26 key representatives from across the College’s service area.

Regional Workforce Development Council

Advisory members of PDCCC’s Regional Workforce Development Council include Max Bartholomew (Manager of Community and Government Affairs, Virginia Power), Teresa Beale (Director, Franklin-Southampton Area Chamber of Commerce), Dr. Michelle Belle (Superintendent, Franklin City School Board), William Bennett (Plant Manager, Southampton Power Station), Douglas Caskey (Administrator, Isle of Wight County), Andy Chapman (Plant Manager, Ashland Inc.), Dr. Lynn Cross (Assistant Superintendent for Special Projects, Suffolk City School Board), Selena Cuffee-Glenn (Suffolk City Manager), Richard Dean (Director of Training and Development, Smithfield Packing Company), June Fleming (Franklin City Manager), Wes Foy, David Fuller (CEO, Southampton Memorial Hospital) Amanda Hampton (Human Resource Manager, Money Mailer), and Kermit Hobbs (Vice President of Manufacturing, Amadas Industries).

Other members of the Workforce Council include Kevin Hughes (Senior Business Development Manager/Retention, Suffolk Economic Development), Mike Johnson (County Administrator, Southampton County), Corey McCray (Director, P.D. Pruden Vocational-Technical Center), Dr. Michael McPherson (Superintendent, Isle of Wight County Schools), Ted Narozny (Plant Manager, Unilever/Lipton), Lisa Perry (Director, Isle of Wight Economic Development), Connie Rhodes (President, Isle of Wight/Smithfield/Windsor Chamber of Commerce), Jerome Richardson (General Manager, Cost Plus World Market), John Smolak (President, Franklin Southampton Economic Development, Inc.), Charles Turner (Division Superintendent, Southampoon County Schools), and Audrey Ward (General Manager, QVC).

We are truly grateful for the dedicated volunteers who make a positive difference at PDCCC.

For information on options available at Paul D. Camp, call (757) 569-6700, or visit our Web site at