Council appoints King to school board seat

Published 6:49 am Tuesday, August 11, 2009

A divided Franklin City Council appointed Edna King to the at-large seat on the city school board Monday night.

Ward 6 Councilman Mark Fetherolf made the motion to appoint King, who was also supported by Vice Mayor Raystine Johnson and Councilwomen Mary Hilliard and Rosa Lawrence. Mayor Jim Councill and Councilmen Barry Cheatham and Benny Burgess opposed the appointment.

King succeeds David Benton, who also had been nominated for the at-large seat along with Phyllis Crum and Linda Burkett.

The council unanimously appointed Will Councill and Glenn Hopkins to the Ward 1 and Ward 2 seats, respectively.

See Wednesday’s print edition of The Tidewater News for more information.