Chamber honors Business of the Year

Published 8:45 am Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Bob Petty , chief executive officer of Bronco Federal Credit Union, accepts the Franklin-Southampton Area Chamber of Commerce’s 2008 Business of the Year award from 2007 winner Benny Burgess of Burgess and Co. during the Chamber’s 55th annual membership meeting Tuesday night at Cypress Cove Country Club. Incoming Chamber President Clyde Parker and outgoing President Lauren Harper also are pictured.

In a lighter moment, Harper passed the ceremonial leadership gavel and “crowned” Parker as the Chamber’s new leader. Some 200 people attended the meeting, which had a St. Patrick’s Day theme.