Windsor wins cheerleading district title

Published 9:07 pm Tuesday, October 21, 2008

FRANKLIN—Windsor High School won another Tri-Rivers District cheerleading competition Monday night.

The Lady Dukes, along with runner-up Appomattox Regional Governor’s School, advance to regional competition next Tuesday at King William High School.

Franklin High School finished third in the district competition, followed by Surry High.

Windsor head coach Dawn Carroll was named Coach of the Year, and the Lady Dukes’ Lauren Chase was chosen Cheerleader of the Year. Chase also represented the Lady Dukes on the All-District first team.

Amy Mesiti of Franklin High earned All-Academic and All-District honors. Other FHS honorees were Samantha Bruck (All-Academic), Lindsey Griffin (All-Academic and first team All-District), Jessica Ruffin (All-Academic and second team All-District), Jasmine Cox (All-District) and Brittanee Rawlings (second team All-District).

Windsor honorees were Erin Phillips (All-Academic and second team All-District), Alex Bryant (All-Academic), Corrine Cahalan (All-Academic and first team All-District), Shanat Faltz (All-Academic and second team All-District), Melissa Gaskins (All-Academic and first team All-District), Mallory Horne (All-Academic and first team All-District), Amanda Pezzuto (All-Academic), Michelle Brown (second team All-District), Bethany VanNeil (second team All-District), Karissa White (first team All-District) and Ashley Vines (first team All-District).

The Lady Broncos are coached by Katie Holland and Carrie Johnson. The Lady Dukes are coached by Carroll, Janet Brock and Lindsay Speight.