Good news abounds for Isle of Wight schools

Published 12:00 am Monday, January 14, 2008

ISLE OF WIGHT-Good news for the Isle of Wight County School Board came in at least two forms Thursday: a check for more than $50,000 and notification that five of its nine schools had been recognized for excellence by the Virginia Index of Performance Standards.

The check, in the amount of $51,875, was presented shortly after the meeting began by Bob Cole, president of the Isle of Wight Education Foundation.

The funds were raised by members of the foundation, which is an advocate for public

education and school improvements. The donated funds will be used by the school system among its nine schools for enrichment projects and educational programs.

Dr. Mary Mehaffey, assistant school superintendent, gave the report on VIP program.

The VIP program awards points to schools and divisions based on the percentage of students achieving at the advanced level on Standards of Learning assessments and progress made toward educational goals advocated by Gov. Timothy Kaine and adopted by the state School Board as part of its comprehensive plan for further strengthening public education in the Commonwealth.

To qualify, schools and school divisions must meet all federal and state achievement benchmarks for at least two consecutive years.

Nineteen school divisions and 475 schools earned the State Board of Education’s VIP Excellence Award, the second-tier honor on the VIP program. Among the 475 schools statewide were four from Isle of Wight: Carrollton, Carrsville, Hardy and Windsor elementary schools.

Twenty-five school divisions and 322 schools earned the State Board of Education’s third-tier VIP Competence to Excellence Award. The IOW School System was among the 25 school divisions, and Smithfield High School was among the 322 schools.

Schools and divisions earning the Board of Education’s Excellence Award and Competence to Excellence Award will each receive a resolution of commendation from the board, said Mehaffey.

“Needless to say, we’re very proud of our students,” she added.

School Board Chairman Dr. George Bradby echoed her comments, then quipped, “I hope you reporters got all of that.”

School board members, including new members Hayes Griffin and David Goodrich, each received committee appointments for the coming year. Other members on the board, in addition to Bradby, are Kenneth Bunch and Herb De Groft.