Election 2007 results

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 8, 2007

Democrat Rick Francis won the race to succeed veteran Southampton County Clerk of the Court Wayne Cosby.

Francis, an attorney and Boykins resident, prevailed over independent candidate Olivia Claud of Courtland. Complete but unofficial results showed Francis with 3,260 votes, or 56 percent, to Claud’s 2,557, or 44 percent.

In the race for Southampton County Commissioner of the Revenue, Amy Carr had 3,589 votes, or 87 percent, to Gregory Battle’s 559, or 13 percent.

Southampton County Newsoms District Supervisor Walt Brown narrowly won re-election, according to unofficial returns. He had 253 votes to Glenn Updike’s 234 and Burt Blythe’s 78.

Capron District Supervisor Moses Wyche also won a close re-election bid. The Democrat beat independent challenger Kay Pope, 411-319, according to complete but unofficial results.

In Isle of Wight County, Sharon Nelms Jones won a three-way race for the Clerk of Court seat, according to complete but unofficial returns. Jones had 5,016 votes, or 56 percent, to 3,353, or 38 percent for Curtis Hardison, and 527, or 6 percent, for Thomas Mayes.

Incumbent Sheriff Charlie Phelps cruised to re-election. He had 5,548 votes, or 62 percent, to Kurt Beach’s 3,241, or 36 percent. Jim Therrien, who withdrew from the race last week for health reasons, received 171 votes.

The news wasn’t as good for another Isle of Wight incumbent. Smithfield District Supervisor Tom Ivy lost his re-election bid, according to complete but unofficial results. Ivy had 876 votes, or 41 percent, to challenger Al Casteen’s 1,264, or 59 percent.

Winning seats on the Isle of Wight School Board, according to complete but unofficial results, were T. Hayes Griffin Jr. in the Windsor District, David W. Goodrich in the Smithfield District and George Bradby in the Newport District.